Skip To Main Content

Home

News & Announcements

Upcoming Events

July 2024
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
Sun, Jun 30
Mon, Jul 1
Tue, Jul 2
Wed, Jul 3
Thu, Jul 4
Fri, Jul 5
Sat, Jul 6
Sun, Jul 7
Mon, Jul 8
Tue, Jul 9
Wed, Jul 10
Thu, Jul 11
Fri, Jul 12
Sat, Jul 13
Sun, Jul 14
Mon, Jul 15
Tue, Jul 16
Wed, Jul 17
Thu, Jul 18
Fri, Jul 19
Sat, Jul 20
Sun, Jul 21
Mon, Jul 22
Tue, Jul 23
Wed, Jul 24
Thu, Jul 25
Fri, Jul 26
Sat, Jul 27
Sun, Jul 28
Mon, Jul 29
Tue, Jul 30
Wed, Jul 31
Thu, Aug 1
Fri, Aug 2
Sat, Aug 3

Education for the Whole Child

Struthers Elementary School prides itself on a strong, positive behavioral intervention system (PBIS) to ensure the "whole" child development (emotional, behavioral and academics).  The partnerships with the ESC of Eastern Ohio, United Way of Mahoning County, Struthers Rotary Club, as well as many local churches and organizations have allowed for many supports for the social and emotional well-being of our students:  Success by Six, Success after Six, Library Book Donation Program, Operational Pollination and the PAX Good Behavior Game.

The standards-based academic instruction is embedded with scientifically researched practices.  Math is taught conceptually using the Bridges curriculum and the English Language Arts instruction focuses on the five components of reading, plus writing.  Benchmark assessments are given three times a year using DIBELS and NWEA Map Growth.  With our one-to-one technology programming, our students are provided with their own chromebook.  Technology classes are offered once a week to all grades along with music, art and physical education.

SES Snapshot

BRONZE AWARD

FOR PBIS

(Positive Behavioral Interventions & Supports) program three years in a row.

WHOLE CHILD FOCUS

with weekly specials for all students including art, music, and physical education.

TECH CLASSES

weekly for all elementary students.

1:1

devices to students.